Long Island Biennial 2020 Artists Announced

The 2020 Long Island Biennial, a juried exhibition featuring exceptional art from contemporary artists across Suffolk and Nassau Counties, received a record 800+  artwork entries, with 100 works selected for exhibition.  The final exhibition represents 52 artists living in Long Island communities stretching from Freeport to Port Washington to Shelter Island Heights. For the first time, most artists will show two or three artworks, presenting viewers with a fuller picture of their recent work.

Inaugurated in 2010, the Long Island Biennial offers Long Island’s professional artists a singular opportunity to share their work through a prestigious exhibition, and provides a unique and exciting space for visitors to see a snapshot of contemporary art on Long Island.

“In the year of our centennial, it was serendipitous that the three jurors happened to select 100 artworks for exhibition,” said Karli Wurzelbacher, Curator. “The volume and quality of the submissions challenged the jurors, yet resulted in a remarkable exhibition that incorporates many media, genres, and styles.”

The jurors for the 2020 Biennial are Erin Kimmel, Art Writer and Ph.D. candidate in Art History at Stony Brook University; Heidi Lange, Director of DC Moore Gallery, New York City; and Paton Miller, Artist/Curator. The exhibition opens October 15, 2020.

Long Island Biennial is sponsored by Pien and Hans Bosch.

Long Island Biennial  2020 Exhibiting Artists

Denise Jones Adler        Huntington

David Almeida                  Locust Valley

Chris Ann Ambery          Hauppauge

Deborah Buck                   Sagaponack

Susan Buroker                 Smithtown

Fernando Carpaneda    Freeport

Philippe Cheng                 Bridgehampton

Patricia Colombraro     Nesconset

Janet Culbertson             Shelter Island Heights

Karen Cunningham       Williston Park

Wendy Curtis                    Huntington

Christine D’Addario      Locust Valley

Caro Dranow                    Bridgehampton

Paul Farinacci                  Sea Cliff

Michael Ferran                Southampton

Andrea Fortunoff           Syosset

Thomas Germano          East Norwich

Glen Hansen                     South Jamesport

Wei-An Huang                 Port Washington

Holly Hunt                        Shirley

Kenneth Jackson            Freeport

Anna Jurinich                  Wading River

Roshanak Keyghobadi  Syosset

Joyce Kubat                        Huntington

Dawn Lee                             Sayville

John Linnemeyer            Huntington

Danielle Livoti                   Bellmore

William Low                       Huntington

Christa  Maiwald              East Hampton

Martha McAleer                Hampton Bays

Kevin McEvoy                    Islip

Luke Merz                           Babylon

Nancy Metz                         Oyster Bay

Kristine Perelle                Huntington

Lisa Petker Mintz            Old Bethpage

Howie Pohl                         Lindenhurst

Han Qin                                St. James

Doug Reina                        Stony Brook

Meredith Rose                 Westhampton Beach

Lauren  Ruiz                      Islip Terrace

Khurshid Saleem            Central Islip

Ellen Hallie Schiff           Glen Cove

Sungsook Setton             Setauket

Alisa Shea                           Northport

Barbara Stein                   Port Washington

Adam Straus                     Riverhead

Ty Stroudsburg                Southold

Lieve Thiers                      Sag Harbor

Sarah Turnbull                Bridgehampton

Mark Van Wagner          East Patchogue

Claire Watson                  Water Mill

Mia Wisnoski                   Westhampton