Students Celebrate Opening of Long Island’s Best 2024

The Museum would like to congratulate all of the exhibiting artists and award winners for Long Island’s Best: Young Artists at the Heckscher Museum 2024! Now celebrating its 28th year, Long Island’s Best is the only juried exhibition for Long Island high school students that provides the opportunity to exhibit in a museum. Students are encouraged to think outside the box as they work in a broad range of media, styles, and subjects.

This year there were 456 student submissions, representing 69 participating high schools across Long Island. Consulting Curator Meredith A. Brown and guest juror Andrea Wozny selected 87 works of art for inclusion in the exhibition as well as numerous award winners. The Museum congratulates all of this year’s exhibiting young artists for their remarkable achievements!

Exhibiting artists, friends, family, teachers, and Museum Members and Donors were invited to view the exhibition during an exclusive Long Island’s Best Preview Day on Saturday, March 23. Despite the inclement weather, there was an amazing turn out throughout the day. Award-winning students then attended a ceremony that evening. A wonderful time was had by all celebrating these amazing young artists! Congratulations once again to all of the exhibiting students!


Top Four Awards:
Sudeeptha Shanmugam, New Hyde Park Memorial High School – First Place, Celebrate Achievement Best in Show
Lauren Tan, William A. Shine Great Neck South High School – Second Place, Judith Sposato Memorial Prize
Jennie Zhang, Hicksville High School – Third Place, The Hadley Prize
Stephanie Avelar, Uniondale High School – Fourth Place, The Stan Brodsky Scholarship Award

Achievement Awards:
Chloe Agostini, Sacred Heart Academy – Achievement Award in Photography
Emma Dean-Stahl, Sayville High School – Achievement Award in Feminist Art
Dylan Friedman, John F. Kennedy High School – Achievement Award in Social Commentary
Estiven Segovia Ticas, Huntington High School – Achievement Award in Design

Honorable Mentions:
Julia Cohen, John F. Kennedy High School
Juan Pablo Hernandez, Long Beach High School
Miguel Ortiz, Hicksville High School
Anisa Ruiz, Hicksville High School

Education Department Award of Recognition:
Kimberly Widjaja, Hicksville High School

Renzo & Lynette Bianchi Scholarship Awards:
Nikole Galgano, Division Avenue High School
Lena Beatty, Northport High School
Robin Jones, Bayport-Blue Point High School
Natalie Parrott, Huntington High School
Alden Kisner, Huntington Fine Arts
Vy Nguyen, Connetquot High School
Erick Benitez, Brentwood Freshman Center – 25th Anniversary Renzo & Lynette Bianchi Scholarship Award

Adelphi University “For the Love of Art” Awards”
Maryam Haji, New Hyde Park Memorial High School – Graphic Design
Kimberly Widjaja, Hicksville High School – Art Foundations

Andrew Presberg Promising Young Artist Award:
Raven Canzoneri, Hicksville High School

Cozza Family Award:
Sophia Tine, Huntington High School

Joseph Mack Achievement Award:
Raven Canzoneri, Hicksville High School

Huntington Fine Arts Honorable Mentions:
Bridget Bardong, Sacred Heart Academy
Dusand Barrow, Uniondale High School
Zoe Eng, Manhasset High School
Jocelyn Liu, Manhasset High School
Madelyn Mejia, Brentwood High School
Kimberly Widjaja, Hicksville High School

Donald & Gloria Horn Scholarship Award:
Katarina Nunez,  East Rockaway High School

Donald G. Horn, Jr. Scholarship Award:
Helena Pirozzi, Sayville High School


Learn more in the Long Island’s Best 2024 Zine:
English   Español



The Darrell Fund Endowment/Henriette Darrell

The Milton & Sally Avery Arts Foundation, Inc.
Strong-Cuevas Foundation

Inna Gellerman, DDS, Gellerman Orthodontics
Callaghan LLP