Long Island Biennial 2022 Artists Announced

Opening October 1, 2022

The Long Island Biennial, a juried exhibition featuring exceptional art from contemporary artists across Suffolk and Nassau Counties, has announced the final list of 2022 exhibiting artists.  This year, 248 artists submitted 723 works of art for consideration. The jurors selected 95 artworks by 57 artists for inclusion in the exhibition.

The exhibition represents living artists on Long Island communities stretching from Freeport to Huntington to Sag Harbor.  As initiated in 2020, many artists will show two or three artworks, presenting viewers with a fuller picture of their recent work.

Launched in 2010, the Long Island Biennial offers Long Island’s professional artists a singular opportunity to share their work through a prestigious exhibition, and provides a unique and exciting space for visitors to see a snapshot of contemporary art on Long Island.

The jurors for the 2020 Biennial are Heather Carter, the founder of Carter Fine Art Services (CFAS);  Gabriela Gonzalez Dellosso, a fine artist known for her homage self-portraits of historical women artists and narrative paintings; and Susan Van Scoy, Ph.D, an Associate Professor of Art History at St. Joseph’s University, Long Island, where she teaches courses on the history of photography, and American and Modern art.  Learn more about the jurors.

We were so impressed with the entrants’ mastery of techniques, use of innovative materials, and engagement with contemporary issues such as the pandemic, climate change, and social justice,” said Van Scoy.  “It was difficult to narrow it down. We aimed to provide a balanced exhibition with figurative, conceptual, and abstract works–paintings, sculptures, prints, and photographs, you name it—it will have something for everyone.” Congratulations to all the exhibiting artists!

Long Island Biennial Sponsored by
Robin T. Hadley
The Cunniff Family

Long Island Biennial  2022 Exhibiting Artists

Edward Acosta   Commack

Chris Ann Ambery   Hauppauge

Beth Atkinson   Northport

Jason Aurelio-Thomas   Oyster Bay

Shain Bard   Huntington Station

John Benevento   South Huntington

Darlene Blaurock   Wantagh

Karl Bourke   Huntington Station

Fernando Carpaneda   Freeport

Mei Fung Elizabeth Chan   Stony Brook

Leeanna Chipana   Central Islip

John Cino   Patchogue

Sally Edelstein   Huntington

Scott Farrell   Huntington Station

Sheila D. Fox   South Huntington

Denise Franzino   Huntington

Peter Galasso   East Setauket

Keith Gamache   Lynbrook

Raymond Germann   Ridge

RJT Haynes   East Hampton

Brianna L. Hernández Baurichter   Southampton

Candace Hill Montgomery   Bridgehampton

Holly Hunt   Shirley

Roshanak Keyghobadi   Syosset

Susan Kozodoy Silkowitz   Lynbrook

Michael Krasowitz   Huntington Station

Neil Leinwohl   Rockville Centre

William Low   Huntington

Christa  Maiwald   East Hampton

Gabriela Manfredi   Middle Island

Gina Mars   Huntington Station

Tom Mason   Locust Valley

Patricia Maurides    Sag Harbor

Vernon McAuley    Selden

Shawn McAvoy   Melville

Cheryl McBride   Freeport

Paul Mele   Island Park

Margaret Minardi    Northport

Kasmira Mohanty   Farmingville

Kayla Moz   Wantagh

Edgar Moza   Westbury

Eileen W. Palmer   St. James

Steve Palumbo   Quoque

David Peikon   Bethpage

Michael Ricigliano   Locust Valley

Michael Ruggiero   East Hampton

Lauren Ruiz   Bellport

Lorena Salcedo-Watson   Bellport

Kate Schwarting   Smithtown

Alisa Shea   Northport

Laura Siegelman   Plainview

Lauren Skelly Bailey   Hicksville

Christine Tudor   Seaford

Mark Van Wagner   East Patchogue

David I. Weiner   Long Beach

Ellen Wiener   Southold

Despina Zografos   Garden City